Thanks, mom.


As all good mothers do, mine recently reminded me to treat others the way I would like to be treated.  When she did so, she was referencing the newly-coined Cow Town.  I would like to make it clear that Cow Town is in no way meant to be a pejorative alias.  I am simply referencing the fact that there seem to be more cows inhabiting my new home than people.  There is a post office and an orchard.  And some fields.  And some cows.  I haven’t actually seen them yet, but I smell them every day.

Yet, I may have passed judgement too quickly on my new home.  While I do not fancy myself an urbanite unable to survive in the country, I was sure there would be a good amount of amenities, products and creature comforts foregone during my Cow Town residency.

I was mentally prepared for today’s field trip to the grocery store (a scavenger hunt for almond milk, tofu and greek yogurt) to be a lesson in foregoing said comforts.  However, after wandering up and down the aisles for what seemed like an eternity, I happened on an incredible natural/organics section.  Non-cow milks, incense-y smelling body products and recyled materials abounded.

At first glance, two grocery store aisles do not embody “artfulness” or “beauty.”   But for me, today, they did.  Those aisles enabled me to come home after a taxing week filled with meetings, procedures and new faces, and make an organic spinach salad with a healthy side dish of white wine. So, thanks, mom, but also, thanks, Cow Town Grocery Store.  You’re the best.

p.s. I took a picture of the charming flower field on my way home from Grocery Store #1 and am in the process of figuring out how to download it to my computer.  I want to share it with anyone that might actually be reading this…

One thought on “Thanks, mom.

  1. I am reading this and would love to see the charming flower field. I love your blog and hearing about your new adventures in “Cow Town, USA.” You have an awesome outlook on life!!!

Leave a Reply

