Runaway jewelry


I have always been a loser-of-jewelry. The sweet necklace my grandmother gifted me (silver, with a little blue and white porcelain charm of a lighthouse on it) one Christmas. The pearl ring my father bought my mother on a Hawaiian vacation (ouch). The sweet sapphire necklace I bought on a trip to Thailand (so sad). I would hold onto things lovingly and then somehow leave them in an idiotic irretrievable place such as pipes, hotels on another continent, or airport bathrooms. I pretty much stopped buying (or being gifted) jewelry because we all knew it would be lost soon enough.

I hit my 20s and thought myself pretty much cured of the affliction. I held on to Christmas presents, flea-market finds and even some nicer things, too. Then, it started happening. Earrings would fall out of my ears. When I say it was not my fault, I am serious. They literally would just fall out at their own will. At Italian class, a fellow student kindly mentioned one ear was missing a chandelier. After pho one night, DPE asked where the jewel-drop in one ear had gotten to. Reaching up to touch an ear in meetings would find one naked ear. As I left a trail of earrings around town, I became more and more frustrated and jewelry-less.

Then, the artsdevivre hit. No, I did not start wearing one earring instead of two or giving family jewels to panhandlers because I knew I would lose them. Rogue earrings just started popping up. Some may credit it to thorough cleaning but this, I call, great karma. In the basement couch cushions I found this guy’s beautiful partner:

 

 

 

 

 

 

So that was fabulous. Then, later on in the summer, when I was painting our downstairs, I found this gem’s pair in the front-room couch cushions:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Several weeks later, I found yet another. A true coup, as they were teensy AND both had disappeared out of my ears one day. Yet I found one half of the runaways on the bathroom shelf. Buzzing with my newly found earring-finder energy, I held out hope for the other. No such luck that day. But all was not lost. A few days later, I felt something on my foot in my dressing room. I gasped as I bent down to inspect the offending foot pricker. It was the miniature opal’s companion! I could not believe my luck to have happened upon these little guys.

 Just like everything else I own, each set of earrings, bracelet or necklace holds some sort of sentimental value or at least reminds me of something: the recovered bejeweled blue and turquoise drops remind me of a friend’s wedding, the blue “sapphire” hoops an afternoon shopping trip with my grandmother and the mini opal of a lazy day in Annapolis with my mother and grandmother. Finding those earrings were bright and unexpected spots in my daily routine. And my ears were certainly the happier for it.

Leave a Reply

