Les chansons de carla


Well, it happened, les amis. I was definitively not able to get away scot-free without suffering a bout of D’s mean virus. Thankfully, I wasn’t nearly as bad as he was, but I was still pretty icky. This morning is the first one I’ve woken up feeling, to use a French III vocabulary expression, bien portante. Looking forward to a quiet day, the first of THREE. Thank you, Presidents!

I don’t know if I’ve shared with you all my absolute LOVE for the première dame de France ~ Carla Bruni Sarkozy. Ever since I discovered some of her ballads as a French major in college, I’ve been pretty addicted. She’s penned several albums, the first one entitled and named for the track Quelqu’un m’a dit (2002) (someone told me) :

, which you probably recognize from movies like Le divorce with Kate Hudson and 500 Days of summer with Zooey Deschanel. She followed up that album with No promises in January 2007. No promises includes lots of poetry (Butler, Yeats, Dicksinson) set to music. I especially loved (love) Lady weeping at the crossroads :

Marrying my oddly enough former political crush (Nicolas Sarkozy) in February 2008 did not stop Carla’s ethereal music-making. In July of 2008, she released Comme si de rien n’etait (As if nothing was). I cannot listen to La possibilité d’une île (The possibility of an island) too many times

Carla’s artistry and whimsy are what really draw me to her. There’s also something too fun about one of the oldest democracies in the world’s first lady being a former Mick-Jagger-dating-supermodel. And as someone who attempts to speak a couple languages other than my own, I have huge amounts of respect for her ability to write lyrics in her native Italian as well as adopted French and English.

Carla’s music is decidedly feminine (D listens grudgingly whenever we’re in my car), but I highly recommend it if you haven’t yet discovered her many songs! Amusez-vous bien and Happy President’s day weekend !

{Images via wikipedia and tumblr)

2 thoughts on “Les chansons de carla

Leave a Reply

