Inspiration from Restoration Hardware


Eight school days (who’s counting?) till spring break. I’m slowly but surely emerging from stacks of homework papers, warm-ups, reading comprehensions and vocabulary quizzes. Only to confront speaking assessments across all six sections I teach. But those are easier since I grade as we speak. Point being, I’m plugging away and dreaming of one early release, six blissful school days, and 2 weekends, away from the classroom. Teaching is great, but nothing if not intense and demanding, and YES in need of these breaks all our non-teaching friends would begrudge us.

In the meantime, I’m maintaining my sanity with the little things, like the gorgeous pack of Restoration Hardware catalogues I came home to today. I especially loved their “Big Style Small Spaces” special issue, a spread of, you guessed it, small living spaces in some of the world’s great cities. Of course all these teeny spaces are maximized by the sleek RH aesthetic (which, a few color pops infused, I adore). Guess which city graced the cover, dahlings? I bet you can ….

 I was of course hooked as soon as I spied the beautiful Haussmanian facades of my favorite city’s (Paree of course) grands boulevards. Once I flipped past the cover, the catalog’s interior did not disappoint. I’m not quite sure why RH has me in their marketing demographic since I definitely cannot afford their furniture quite yet, but I already know what WILL be mine one day ;). Peruse with me ~
 I certainly covet an elaborate chandelier like the one pictured here. I especially love it juxtaposed against those faded and worn floors (a la Anthropologie).

While I like this bedroom, I’m not quite sure it’s what I aspire to (more on that in a later post.) What I do love is the large mirror in the entryway. Our current digs don’t really have an entryway, but maybe our next will. I love the idea of a small entryway with a large mirror (maximize space) and changed a bit from the above with a funky, bold color that pops. (Fuschia?  Turquoise? Royal blue?) That’s a discussion for a later date though, friends. For now, I’m just perusing and daydreaming. Accomplishment of inspiration will wait for spring break (fresh paint in bedroom and office). What inspires you to change your space?

2 thoughts on “Inspiration from Restoration Hardware

  1. I love reading your random wonderings. You make me want to relearn French and visit your favorite place. Come on spring break!

Leave a Reply

