How to: sweeten up Greek yogurt without too much sugar


I love Greek yogurt in all its forms ~

yummy tzatziki, photo via {here}

a healthier version of a baked potato with sour cream, photo via {here}

or less artery-clogging than mayonnaise based tuna salad, photo via {here}

 

But, in the summer time, my favorite way to eat Greek yogurt is definitely with whatever fruit is yummiest and sweetest that particular week. Recently, though, I’ve been feeling less than enthused about this breakfast, mostly because the acidity has been a bit overpowering. Do you know what I mean? I don’t like any of the traditional yogurts (since they cost you minimum 20 grams of sugar a pop and usually include high fructose corn syrup) and so couldn’t switch to those. In a rare epiphany moment, I found the perfect solution yesterday afternoon:

-Add 1 part any type of whipped cream (usually under 5 grams of sugar per serving) to 2 parts yogurt. Slice up your preferred fruit (I can’t get enough of peaches and plums the past couple weeks) and enjoy! The sweet we all crave minus the yucky preservatives 🙂

I didn’t take this pic but it’s what my delicious late afternoon snack looked like yesterday ~

 

{via}

Leave a Reply

