Pillowy details


Ok, so if you come to artsdevivre regularly, you know that I am having issues solving our seating dilemma. I desperately want a new couch, but we have decided to pinch pennies just a bit longer before plunging into purchasing our “nice” furniture. Our furniture is mostly worn, and mostly hand me downs, but it works for its collective purposes, so I think it’s important to not over extend ourselves financially when we are not quite ready.

However, that does not solve the conundrum of our, ahem, very tired sofa in the front room. The first slipcover I purchased was a disaster, and in keeping with my current thrifty ideals, I found one more in-line financially (ha! only $43!) and actually I like the color far better. Here she is ~

Now, I know this is not like looking at perfectly zen interiors on Pinterest, but it’s all about the canvas, right? Obviously I am not going to purchase that awkward cube pattern carpet. And obviously I am going to add some super cute decorative pillows to accent my choice of grey. And I figure, since I’ve been *so.responsible* about not over spending on a new sofa, I can at least purchase some great pillows petit à petit. We have these awesome cave painting reproductions in our front room (courtesy of my grandparents’ travels in the 1960s), which I love paired with that geometric lamp from Target (snagged for $50) last spring 🙂 …

We also picked up this amazing ceiling medallion from the Parisian Flea in Hampden. I love everything about it, but most of all that it was saved from a crumbling Hollywood mansion. Just think about the parties it has witnessed!

Once the grey slipcover is applied and the ceiling medallion hung (on the wall, like a 3D painting), I can polish off with the finishing details like pillows. Here are some that I think keep well with the rest of the room’s mustards, gunmetals and muted blues …

{via}

{via}

{via}

{via}

{via}

And D will tell you I am “obsessed” with being cozy, so I’m thinking this light throw (in mustard) from West Elm will finish everything off. I can’t wait to have it all put it together. It won’t be over night, but definitely by Christmas time. Have you spied any cute pillows or throws recently?

3 thoughts on “Pillowy details

  1. That medallion is to die for Hil!!! and I love the 3rd pillow down (gray w/ mustard stripe!) . I do have to say I’ve loved everything we’ve gotten from West Elm, Quality is amazing ( we have 2 duvets, sheets & insert, and a few throw pillows as well). And doesn’t hurt that it’s all organic! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. Pingback: Slipcover accomplished | Artsdevivre

Leave a Reply

