Healthy(er) treats


Between a French club cheese tasting early Friday evening and out-of-town friends in for the weekend, I had a couple of excuses to try out some trusty Pinterest recipes. I love unhealthy food but don’t love how it makes me feel, so I’m always looking for ways to cut corners without sacrificing taste. (Greek yogurt for sour cream or mayonnaise, all natural sweeteners like Tru-via for chemical-laden Splenda, or beans for flour.)

Instead of bringing cheese to the French club gathering, I was tasked with a fruit plate, so tried out a twist on the traditional marshmallow fluff fruit dip, which is simple, only requiring 1 cup of powdered sugar, 1 container of marshmallow fluff and 8 oz of softened cream cheese. I take no issue with powdered sugar since we don’t  eat much of it in our house, but I just can’t level with marshmallow fluff, its main ingredients including public enemy #1 corn syrup as well as “vanillan”, which is chemically-derived vanilla. No thanks.

So I tried to think what might approximate the fluffiness of the “fluff” and opted for whipped cream cheese instead of regular. Then I substituted Greek yogurt to approximate the consistency (although obviously it’s wetter than the fluff

I beat my substitutes and scooped it all into a cute little Paris bowl. The result was delicious, but I would recommend beating at a high speed for a couple extra minutes to get that extra frothiness to make up for the absence of the processed fluff.

I had also been wanting to try a delicious recipe I spied for 7-up biscuits. They included 2 cups of Bisquick, 1/2 a cup each of sour cream and 7-up and 1/4 cup of melted butter. I rationalized the melted butter since I was only using it to coat the pan and then substituted the Bisquick for Trader Joe’s buttermilk pancake mix (no preservatives), the sour cream for Greek yogurt and the 7-up for organic sparkly limeade. 12 minutes in the oven at 425 degrees produced these guys:

They were so much moister than regular biscuits I’ve done from scratch or from a box, and the butter-coated pan made all the difference in terms of taste. You can’t tell from this picture, but I cut them in a really irregular way, so some of them turned out almost cracker-like. Délicieux ! Have you discovered any (sort of) healthy treats recently?

Leave a Reply

