Recipe highlights


Salut, les amis ! I hope you all enjoyed a beautiful fall weekend. I was so excited to get back to the farmer’s market and witness the amazing squash, pumpkins, gourds, pears and other fall-time treats. Secretly, I prefer the fall market to the summer. But I’m a veggie-a-holic so that makes sense. Here are some recipe highlights from last week, the first one headlining spaghetti squash, the perfect fall treat.

D claimed it was the first time he’s ever enjoyed this veggie I love to pretend is pasta. Maybe he was just being nice. But I have to admit, it was rather tasty. Mine was inspired by this recipe, but I think you really don’t need to follow any specific set of directions, measurements, etc. Do what looks natural to you and use the spices you prefer. Here’s a rough plan of what you should do:

1. Painstakingly halve the spaghetti squash. Be careful! Even with our amazing Shun knife, it was a task. 

2. Bake the squash skin side up, “meat” side down at 350 degrees for about an hour. 

3. Fork out the spaghetti squash and alternate layers, starting with squash, ending with cheese, of cheese (I did a mix of cheddar and parm – it was what we had), sliced tomatoes, squash and spices in a greased 8 x 11 baking dish. I did dried parsley and onion powder because that’s what the original recipe author called for. I substituted garlic powder with chopped garlic and basil from my herb garden for dried just because I always prefer fresh if I have it.

4. Bake the whole concoction for about a half an hour, uncovered, at 350 degrees. 

Next time around, I’m going to use a smaller baking pan (maybe my squash didn’t yield as much as hers) and go lighter on the cheese. I didn’t use all the cheese the recipe called for, and still felt there was a bit much (if it’s possible for there to be too much cheese, of course). 

The other yummy veggie recipe we tried last week was this absolutely delicious creamy avocado pasta that D made while I had parent-teacher conferences.

Normally, I can’t get him to crack a cookbook, but with my Pinterest craze we are trying lots of new recipes. It’s hard to believe this is vegan with the intensely rich creaminess the avocado sauce bestows upon the dish. (And I don’t mean that as a knock against vegans AT ALL, I’m just so addicted to cheese that I can’t imagine my diet without it.) D’s version was inspired by this recipe, but if you don’t feel like clicking through, follow these simple steps:

1. First pulse  3 large cloves of garlic, the juice of 1 lemon and 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil in the food processor. Then add two ripe avocados, 1/2 cup of packed basil leaves and salt to taste and re-pulse.

2. Then cook the pasta to your liking, drain and toss with the sauce. 

Délicieux ! My only caution on this one is to eat any leftovers ASAP since avocados spoil quickly once cut.

Leave a Reply

