Internet cleanse


I haven’t done the bloggy thing in quite some time … over three months. Partly because my real job demanded tons of attention and focus and my students deserved that, but mostly because over the past several months, I’ve developed an aversion to blogs and the Internet in general. That doesn’t mean I haven’t been looking at facebook with my eyes glazed over and absentmindedly pinning my umpteenth favorite bedroom or recipe. But recently I’ve been asking myself WHY? What did we DO before all these outlets existed? I’m thinking more of those dream bedrooms and recipes came to life since we weren’t so busy surfing the internet searching for them. 

I apologize if I’m sounding too cynical, but I can’t help looking at so many blogs (mine included!) and thinking that they. are. all. the. same. Blogs rarely discuss bad days, flop recipes or work problems. Yes, some occasionally talk about a bad day, but usually those posts are accompanied by some perfect picture reminding me to stick with it and believe in myself. I know it’s intended as encouragement, but when I’m in a funk, I don’t want to look at some perfectly photographed tropical beach. It just reminds me I’m not there.

The corners of the Internet I frequent are all whimsy, creative food, charming design and perfect pictures. If you happen to be reading this, you might be thinking “What’s wrong with that?”

Well, part of me agrees with you, but much of me disagrees. If we “design” every moment of our lives, then where does the authenticity come in? I love pretty and details.  But it’s not life. Let me amend that. It’s not the most important part of life. I don’t have time during the week or most weekends even to make an elaborate recipe or spend hours perfectly wrapping a shower gift. And if I prioritized that, well then, I’d be missing out on quality time with family and friends.

The point of this isn’t to say I’m forever done with blogging,  or with “liking” friends’ pictures. The point is that for me and my personal quest for artsdevivre, right now is about less observing, and more doing. 

2 thoughts on “Internet cleanse

  1. Hi, I just found your blog via Tumblr. I can totally relate to your post. I have been feeling exactly the same way for quite some time, wondering, what’s the point of it all if I’m not living in the present moment and experiencing my life. Sometimes we need to realize that not every moment needs to be captured with our iphones. I wholeheartedly agree with you on the “less observing and more doing”. Good luck to you!

Leave a comment